Happy Bread!

Happy Bread!

I can tolerate a moderate amount of wheat flour.  But I still like a number of GF flours, and I am better off if I do not over do it with wheat flour.  I  tolerate honey  really well and have always liked to use it in bread recipes.  (Something I learned from my mom.)

Sourdough is considered good for IBS.  I have my own starter, have not ditched it even though I dislike sourdough taste.  I have heard a small amount of sourdough can help the shelf life of GF baked goods.  So I am experimenting with all these combos that are not pure low FODMAP but are adaptions I personally can tolerate.

I started with a Gluten-Free English Muffin recipe from Karina Allrich’s blog and incorporated both a half cup of A.P. Wheat flour and a half cup of sourdough starter.  I also added some ground flax-seed, ground Chia seeds, and hi-maize natural fiber.  I reduced Karina’s called for salt significantly and omitted the millet flour and xanthan gum all together.  

A real gamble?  Yep!  This time in paid off nicely.  I am so happy with the resulting bread (nothing like English Muffin texture or taste) that I am simply calling it Happy Bread.

Ingredients:
  • 1 cup sorghum flour 
  • 1/2 cup potato starch (not potato flour)
  • 1/2 cup tapioca starch
  • 1/2 cup A.P. wheat flour
  • 2 Tablespoons ground flax seeds
  • 2 Tablespoons hi-maize natural fiber
  • 1 Tablespoon ground Chia seeds
  • 1/2 teaspoon fine sea salt
  • 1/2 cup  milk, at 110º to 115ºF.
  • 1/4 teaspoon sugar 
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons dry active yeast
  • 1/2 cup sourdough starter
  • 4 tablespoons light olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons raw, unfiltered honey 
  • 2 large organic free-range eggs
  • ? – 3/4 cup to 1 cup room temperature water – as needed to make thick batter

Instructions:

Place first 8 ingredients into the bowl of a stand mixer and whisk until well mixed.

Combine warm milk & sugar in an at least 2 cup size measuring cup.  Sprinkle yeast on top and let sit until it starts to bubble.

In another small bowl, combine oil, honey, and eggs and lightly beat.  Add to dry ingredients.

Add sourdough starter to yeast mixture, then add to large bowl.  Let the mixer run with dough hook, scraping down sides several times, and adding tepid water to achieve a sticky batter.

Pour batter into pans that have been greased (I used ghee) and lightly dusted with cornmeal.  Do not fill pans beyond the half way mark.  Sprinkle tops with a little more cornmeal.

Place pans in a warm place to rise.  Check in 15 minutes to see if the batter has doubled.

Bake in a pre-heated 350ºF oven for 20 to 25 minutes if in small pans.  I used my KAF sandwich bun pan, and put the extra batter into a tiny, 3″ x 6″, loaf pan.  In the future, I think I would use all loaf pans.  It makes better bread slices than sandwich buns given its tender crumb.

 

 

Leave a Reply

