Starting Sourdough Starter

Starting Sourdough Starter

Disclaimer:  This post is not suitable for the Elimination Phase of the Low Fodmap diet, or for anyone with Wheat/Gluten intolerance.

I have never been fond of the taste of sourdough bread, but there are many sources that promote it as easier to digest, and containing the gut friendly bacteria Lactobacillus.  Julie O’Hara, of Calm Belly Kitchen, had Jennifer Mather do a video presentation on making your own starter, and then bread.  That motivated me to give it a go.  Fingers crossed I will like my homemade sourdough better than any I have ever purchased.

My photos show the 50 ounce glass container I purchased for this project,  a square of cheesecloth, a length of twine to cover the flour & water mixture; the itty- bitty measuring spoon is a “pinch” which is the amount of sugar added to the starter, the yellow dotted sandwich bags have the pre-measured flour to be added each day; while the last photo shows the jar sitting on top of my fridge.

I do tolerate moderate amounts of white wheat flour and am in hopes sourdough will allow me to add back rye and whole wheat flours too.

Leave a Reply

