A Pain in the Gut – Gas

Week five following a low FODMAP diet and things have improved, but I still have abdominal pain that is more than I enjoy living with daily.  I have been reading a few of the articles that are on the “verywell” site written by Barbara B. Bolen, PhD, including an article about the  Most Gassy Foods.  I am becoming fond of food lists.

heads-of-cabbage_small

Clippix ECT

rows-of-blood-oranges-on-display-at-haymarket-square_small

from

broccoli-on-display-at-haymarket-square_small

Images

The following is extracted from that article, but the purple cross-reference highlights are mine.  Wish I could say I found foods that I should remove from my diet to make everything wonderful, but  I already avoid most everything listed.  I have added oranges back into my diet the past two weeks and there is no direct cause & effect relationship that I have detected.  I think the pluses outweigh the negatives there.  What the list does do is to give added reason for my waiting  on reintroducing a few of vegetables that I actually miss (asparagus, broccoli, cabbage) and supports my lifelong aversion to most of the legume family.

I am posting this just in case it might be helpful to someone else.

Foods Most Likely to Give You Gas

 low or moderate FODMAP but on the gas list 


Gassy Vegetables:
  • -Artichokes
  • -Asparagus
  • -Broccoli
  • Brussel sprouts
  • -Cabbage
  • Cauliflower
  • -Celery
  • Onions
  • Peas
  • -Sweet potatoes

Gassy Fruits:

  • Apples
  • Apricots
  • Mango–
  • -Oranges
  • Peaches
  • Pears
  • Plums
  • Watermelon

Gassy Dried fruits:

  • Apricots
  • Prunes
  • Raisins

Gassy Dairy

  • Buttermilk
  • Cream cheese
  • -Heavy cream
  • -Ice cream
  • Milk
  • Processed foods containing milk products
  • Ricotta

Gassy Whole Grains

  • Barley
  • -Flax seed
  • Rye
  • Wheat

 Gassiest Legumes:

  • Baked beans
  • Black beans
  • Black-eyed peas
  • -Butter beans
  • Cannelinni (white) beans
  • Kidney beans
  • -Lima beans
  • Navy beans

 

Leave a Reply

