Revisiting Bisquick GF Margherita Pizza

Revisiting Bisquick GF Margherita Pizza

This is quickly becoming a go to meal for me.  Perhaps the fact that I had stayed away from  pizza for nearly two years is part of the reason.  I have made a couple tweaks since I first posted.  The first is I now make all mini pizzas using my new King Arthur  Flour Individual Pie and Burger Bun Pan, plus 2 to 4 old mini pie plates.  IMG_8460

Secondly, I have switched up a few of the ingredients:

  • instead of 1 ounce fresh chives I now substitute 2 TBs of freeze-dried chives — because it is milder this way and because I have a lifetime supply on hand from when I once ordered them from Penzeys having no idea how large a bag I would receive
  • I have reduced the 1 + 1/3 cups Bisquick Gluten Free mix to just 1 cup, and have added 1/3 cup of  King Arthur Flour’s Gluten Free Ancient Grains Blend – made of 30% each amaranth**, millet, and sorghum flours and 10% quinoa flour.  This makes the crust less puffy, gives it a more golden color and adds  a little more  protein & fiber.
  • I use mostly dried oregano in the crust for the same reason that I use the freeze-dried chives.
  • I have reduced the 1/3 cup oil called for in the crust to 4 TBs which saves about 10 calories per mini pizza

Update — May 7, 2016  The Ancient Grains Flour Blend from King Arthur Flour does contain 30% Amaranth flour, which  Ash Jones,  an Accredited Practicing Dietitian, of Off-Duty Dietitian, has on her list of high FODMAP flours to avoid.  I am going to finish off the bag I purchased and will probably not buy it in the future.

Revised recipe:

Low FODMAP friendly Bisquick Gluten Free Margherita Pizza

Ingredients:

‘pesto’

  • ½ ounce fresh basil
  • ½ ounce fresh spinach leaves
  • 1 ounce fresh chives
  • 2 TBs grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1 TB olive oil

other topping ingredients

  • 1 Roma tomato
  • shredded mozzarella cheese, to taste / or use fresh mozzarella slices

crust (modified from the recipe found on side of box)

  • 1  cup Bisquick Gluten Free mix
  • 1/3 cup King Arthur Flour’s Gluten Free Ancient Grains Blend
  • ½ to 2 tsps Italian seasoning, dried oregano, or other dried herbs
  • ½ cup water
  • 4 TBs cup oil
  • 2 eggs, beaten

Method:

  • Prepare ‘pesto’ by de-stemming and coarsely hand shredding basil and spinach leaves, then placing them into the bowl of a food processor, along with the chives.  Pulse briefly.  Add Parmesan cheese, pulse again.  Add olive oil and pulse to reach desired consistency.  (Yields  about 6 TBs)
  • Halve slice and dice tomato.
  • Heat oven to 425 F. Line pans with parchment paper.
  • Stir dry mix with dried herbs. Add liquids and keep stirring until well combined. Spread crusts in prepared pans.
  • Bake for 15 minutes. Remove from oven. Crusts may appear cracked.
  • Spread ‘pesto’ over hot crusts, arrange tomato pieces, and top with cheese, then return pans to oven.  Bake for 10 to 15 minutes longer or until cheese is melted.

I tend to eat 2 mini pizzas, fresh out of the oven, wrap 2 more to put in the fridge for a second meal, then wrap and freeze the remaining.  I have a nicely stocked freezer with homemade gluten-free options.  This wonderful for “flare up” days or anytime one is rushed.

Leave a Reply

